Thou Shalt Not…

I recently posted those words in Skype to keep my contacts wondering what my status is all about. And then i thought, “what really comes next after that dot-dot-dot?”.

We normally see the words “Thou Shall Not” in the Bible and it always implies a command. Some sees it only as a guideline but the real intention of these words is for us to COMPLY. But we people, you know, we love to break rules. I, for one, is guilty of that.

Many of us recalls bits about the Bible and there are few who really knows it by heart (as in from Genesis to Revelation). There was a song we usually sing to memorize the books of the Bible but that was way years back and I don’t recall it anymore.

Anyway, let’s revisit the Ten Commandments in Exodus 20:1-17. I’ll be using the New International Version (NIV) Bible so please take note that the “thou” has been replaced by “you”.

(1) “I am the Lord your God… YOU SHALL have NO other gods before me.” (v. 2-3)

(2) “YOU SHALL NOT make for yourself an idol in the form of anything… YOU SHALL NOT bow down to them or worship them…” (v. 4-5)

(3) “YOU SHALL NOT misuse the name of the Lord your God…” (v. 7)

(4) “Remember the Sabbath Day by keeping it holy… On it YOU SHALL NOT do any work…” (v. 8-11)

(5) “Honor your father and your mother…” (v. 12)

(6) “YOU SHALL NOT murder.” (v. 13)

(7) “YOU SHALL NOT commit adultery.” (v. 14)

(8) “YOU SHALL NOT steal.” (v. 15)

(9) “YOU SHALL NOT give false testimony against your neighbor.” (v. 16)

(10) “YOU SHALL NOT covet your neighbor’s house. YOU SHALL NOT covet your neighbor’s wife… or anything that belongs to your neighbor” (v. 17)

I don’t want to antagonize any beliefs here but the first four commandments clearly says that It’s All About Him (God): no other gods, idols, pagans, deity or whatsoever. Even putting yourself, your family or wealth first is a No-No for Him. He is quite a jealous God. If you read further on verse 5, there’s a punishment or reward to those who disobey or comply…

(v. 5-6) “For I, the Lord your God, am a jealous God, PUNISHING the children for the sin of the fathers to the third and fourth generation of those who hate me, but SHOWING LOVE to a thousand generations of those who love me and keep my commandments.”

Which makes me wonder… maybe this is the reason why there is so much poverty, war, and disunity among nations… because all of us disobeyed God. Hmm…

Now on to commandments 5-10… these give more details to “love your neighbor as you love yourself”. I have a few questions though that I needed help from.

(5) “Honor your father and your mother…” – What if they’ve been bad parents?

(6) “YOU SHALL NOT murder.” (v. 13) – Does this include killing someone in your mind?

(7) “YOU SHALL NOT commit adultery.” (v. 14) – Why is it always us women who commit the greatest sin?

(8) “YOU SHALL NOT steal.” (v. 15) – How about stealing ideas?

(9) “YOU SHALL NOT give false testimony against your neighbor.” (v. 16) – Does lying fall in this category?

(10) “YOU SHALL NOT covet your neighbor’s house. YOU SHALL NOT covet your neighbor’s wife… or anything that belongs to your neighbor” (v. 17) – This is clearly envy and jealousy, right?

I am no perfect Christian. I believe, I knew, but I still have questions. I have sinned greater than any of you out there. I know that there is redemption as my Bible tells me but I am too guilty to face my Redeemer…

Photo credit: www.noursat.tv

Leave a Reply

