The Solar System Song

The easiest way for kids to learn something is through singing.

I had a hard time teaching my kids the order of the planets and their special features. Honestly, there is a lot to learn and kids can only take in so much information at a given time. So i went to You Tube for help and I found this. It’s a simple video, with funny cartoon planets that almost look the same, but it sure taught my kids about the Solar System. I even memorized the order of the planets from the sun because of this. I hope this video helps parents like me who don’t know where to start teaching science to their kids. 🙂

Here is the lyrics of the song:

 

I am the SUN.

I’m a burning ball of fire.

I am very big indeed.

Life on Earth depends on me.

I am the SUN.

 

I am MERCURY.

I’m the closest planet to the sun.

I’m a ball of fire.

I have no moon.

I am MERCURY.

 

I am VENUS.

I’m the same size as the EARTH.

But I spin the other way and much more slowly.

I have no water.

I am VENUS.

 

I am the EARTH.

The place where we all live

There is land and lots of seas so I look blue.

I have a moon.

I am the EARTH.

 

I am MARS.

I’m a rocky red planet.

My mountains are the highest in our solar system.

I have two moons.

I am MARS.

 

I am JUPITER.

I’m a gas giant.

I’m the biggest and I spin the fastest.

I have the biggest moon.

I am JUPITER.

 

I am SATURN.

I’m a gas giant.

My rings are made of ice.

Titan is my biggest moon.

I am SATURN.

 

I am URANUS.

I’m an icy gas giant.

I’m the coldest planet in our solar system.

And I have rings made of dust.

I am URANUS.

 

I am NEPTUNE.

I’m an icy gas giant.

I’m the farthest planet from the sun.

I have many storms.

I am NEPTUNE.

 

We are the solar system.

We are the solar system.

Leave a Reply

